DUI Lawyers are attorneys who represent clients who have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DUI stands for “driving under the influence.” A DUI charge can be serious, and a conviction can result in jail time, a driver’s license suspension, and other penalties.
DUI lawyers specialize in defending clients who have been charged with DUI. They understand the laws surrounding DUI, and they know how to build a strong defense. A DUI lawyer can challenge the evidence against you, negotiate with prosecutors, and help you avoid a conviction.
When it comes to defending yourself against DUI charges, you need an experienced lawyer on your side. That’s why so many people in San Benito County, CA, turn to Jose A. Velasquez. With years of experience defending clients in court, Jose A. Velasquez knows exactly what to do to help you get the best possible outcome for your case.
California DUI Laws
DUI stands for “driving under the influence.” DUI laws prohibit people from driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs.
DUI laws vary from state to state. In some states, you can be charged with DUI if you are caught driving with a blood-alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or higher. You can be charged with DUI in other states if your BAC is .05 or higher.
In California, you can be charged with DUI if your BAC is .08 or higher. If you are under 21 years old, you can be charged with DUI if your BAC is .01 or higher.
You can also be charged with DUI if you are caught driving while impaired by drugs. You do not need to have a BAC of .08 or higher to be charged with DUI. If you are caught driving while impaired by drugs, you can be charged with DUI.
Blood-Alcohol Level (BAC)
Your blood-alcohol level is the percentage of alcohol in your blood.
For example, if your BAC is .08, that means that you have .08% of alcohol in your blood.
There are different ways to measure BAC. The most common way is with a breathalyzer. A breathalyzer is a device that measures the amount of alcohol in your breath.
Another way to measure BAC is with a blood test. This is usually done at a hospital or police station.
There are different levels of BAC. The level of BAC depends on several factors, including your weight, how much alcohol you have consumed, and how long you have been drinking.
The following are the different levels of BAC:
- .08% BAC or higher is considered DUI in all states
- .05% BAC or higher is considered DUI in some states
- .01% BAC or higher is considered DUI if you are under 21 years old
The penalties for DUI depend on several factors, including your BAC, whether you have been convicted of DUI before, and whether anyone was injured as a result of your driving.
The following are some of the possible penalties for DUI:
- Jail time: up to 6 months
- License suspension: up to 6 months
- Fine: up to $2,600
- Jail time: 96 hours to 1 year
- License suspension: 2 years
- Fine: up to $2,800
- Jail time: 120 days to 1 year
- License suspension: 3 years
- Fine: up to $18,000
If you are convicted of DUI, you may be sentenced to a DUI school and have an ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle.
An ignition interlock device is a device that prevents a car from starting if the driver has been drinking.
The best way to avoid a DUI arrest is to not drink and drive. If you are going to drink, make sure you have a designated driver.
- If the police pull you over, do not admit that you have been drinking. Ask to speak to a lawyer before answering any questions.
- Do not take a field sobriety test. These tests are designed to be difficult to pass.
- Do not take a breathalyzer test. This test is used to measure your BAC. The results of this test can be used against you in court. Ask to speak to a DUI attorney first.
If you are arrested for DUI, call an experienced DUI lawyer immediately. An experienced DUI lawyer can help you understand the charges against you and the possible penalties.
An experienced DUI lawyer can help you in a number of ways.
An experienced DUI lawyer can:
- Explain the charges against you
- Investigate the facts of your case
- Find witnesses and gather evidence
- Challenge the evidence against you
- Negotiate with the prosecutor
- Represent you at trial, if necessary
Experienced DUI lawyers know the law and the courts. They can help you navigate the criminal justice system and achieve the best possible outcome in your case. If you have been charged with DUI, call an experienced DUI lawyer today.
San Benito County is located in the central coast region of California. The county seat is Hollister. The population of San Benito County is 62,808. The median income for a household in San Benito County is $61,153. The median home value in San Benito County is $324,900. San Benito County is home to Pinnacles National Park.
Pinnacles National Park is a national park located in central California. The park is known for its unique rock formations and hiking trails. Hiking is a popular activity in Pinnacles National Park. There are over 30 miles of hiking trails in the park. Camping is also a popular activity in Pinnacles National Park. There are two campgrounds in the park.
San Benito County is home to San Benito High School. San Benito High School is a public high school located in Hollister, California. The school has an enrollment of 1,664 students.
San Benito County CA to 137 Central Ave #7, Salinas, CA 93901. Driving Directions
via Panoche Rd
- San Benito County California, USA
- Take Panoche Rd to CA-25 N in Paicines
- Turn right onto CA-25 N
- Turn left onto Union Rd
- Follow CA-156 W and US-101 S to Salinas St in Salinas
- Take Central Ave to your destination
- 137 Central Ave #7 Salinas, CA 93901, USA
If you need an appointment with Attorney Jose Velasquez
call 831-424-5680 to schedule a confidential consultation.